Deutsch | English

Building instructions

Building instructions and part lists

There are no building instructions und part lists available for the models shown on this web site. There are no engineering drawings available. To build the LEGO models only photographs from the real prototypes were used. All models are unique and not for sale.

Why doesn't building instructions exist?

The LEGO models I create are unique models which are created without using a typical LEGO building instruction. Normally I get inspired by real life prototypes which I see in the real world or on the internet. I would say that I "know" the most common 2000 lego shapes by heard. This gives me the opportunity to start building a LEGO model just in my mind. And what started as a thought continous with bricks in my fingers. With a lot of creativity, try and error my LEGO models come to life.

Highslide JS
Building instructions for the green Water Cannon Truck

Create building instructions

Yes, it is correct that LEGO fans create their own building instructions from or for their models. Basis is a CAD-model of the LEGO model. If you want to enter the wide field of virtual LEGO building and creating custom builing instructions I recommend the site www.ldraw.org as a starting point. To be successful, profound computer knowledge is necessary.

Why do I not create building instructions for my models?

Due to following reasons I do not create and provide building instructions for my models:

  • LEGO is a hobby with limited time. To create a suitable building instruction it will take 3 or 4 times as long as "just" to build the model. I simply do not have that time.
  • Some of my models are rather big and/or complex. My computer or at least the CAD software tools won't be able to handle such big and complex files.
  • For me it is not very creative if LEGO is build just using building instructions. If you want to get used to certain LEGO elements a standard LEGO set will work for the beginning before you create your own models. LEGO offers building instruction for official sets at their website as PDF download (http://us.service.lego.com/en-US/BuildingInstructions/default.aspx).
  • Even if a custom building instruction would be available, the second problem would be the building material. I myself I do not trade or sell LEGO bricks. Most of my models require a lot of elements including some special elements which are not available in recent LEGO sets any more. They might be rarely available at www.bricklink.com but probably not in the required quantities. You might have to collect over a long time to get all the bricks you need to rebuild one of my models.
  • Some folks are extremly greedy: they get hold of custom building instructions, rebuild the models and then sell them for a hell lot of money on ebay or elsewhere. Mostly in such cases the copyright holder and creater of the model (and the instructions) is neither asked nor notified. And of course he or she is not given any percentage of the gain from selling the model. Such unfair behaviour only could be avoided by not putting custom building instructions online.

Where to find building instructions from other LEGO fans?

No rule without exception 

A long time ago, I have created a building instruction (without part list) for my green Water Cannon Truck. This instruction is available as PDF download (ca. 3,6 MB). The PDF file is password protected, please ask for the password by email.

Building instructions are available for some selected train models (steam engine BR 10 and BR 80).

Building and selling my models

My building instructions are available for free. Building these models is only allowed for personal use. Building these models with the purpose of selling them and make your own profit is prohibited.

Deutsch | English

Bauanleitungen

Bauanleitung und Teileliste

Für meine hier gezeigten Modelle sind normalerweise keine Bauanleitungen und keine Teilelisten verfügbar. Es gibt auch keine Konstruktionszeichnungen, als Vorlage dienen in der Regel Fotos der realen Vorbilder. Die Modelle sind unverkäufliche Einzelstücke.

Warum gibt es keine Bauanleitungen?

Die LEGO Modelle, die ich baue, sind Einzelstücke, die ohne eine typische LEGO Bauanleitung entstehen. Ich gehe mit offenen Augen durch die Welt und schaue mir reale Vorbilder möglichst genau an, die ich als LEGO Modell nachbauen möchte. Dabei habe ich die gängigen Farben und Formen von verfügbaren LEGO Elemente mehr oder weniger im Hinterkopf gespeichert und überlege mir vor dem geistigen Auge, wie ich das Modell bauen könnte. Was in Gedanken anfängt, geht dann mit den Steinen in den Fingern weiter. Mit viel Kreativität, Versuch und Irrtum entstehen so meine LEGO Modelle.

Highslide JS
Bauanleitung für den grünen Wasserwerfer

Bauanleitungen selber erstellen

Ja, es ist richtig, dass man Bauanleitungen von LEGO Modellen erstellen kann. Grundlage dazu ist ein virutelles CAD-Modell des LEGO Modells. Als Einstieg in die virtuelle LEGO Welt empfehle ich die die Webseite www.ldraw.org (nur auf Englisch verfügbar, solide Computerkenntnisse sind erforderlich).

Warum erstelle ich keine Bauanleitungen meiner Modelle?

Aus folgenden Gründen erstelle ich keine Bauanleitungen meiner LEGO Modelle:

  • LEGO ist ein Hobby und dafür steht mir nur begrenzt Zeit zur Verfügung. Für die Erstellung einer brauchbaren Bauanleitung muss man ungefähr die drei- bis vierfache Zeit einkalkulieren, die man braucht, um das Modell „einfach so“ aus LEGO zu bauen.
  • Meine Modelle sind zum Teil sehr groß und komplex. Mein Rechner beziehungsweise die Software, mit der das CAD-Modell und die Anleitung erstellt werden, würde wahrscheinlich regelmäßig in die Knie gehen.
  • Ich findes es wenig kreativ, wenn man LEGO „nur“ nach Anleitung baut. Wer den Umgang und die Verwendungsmöglichkeiten von LEGO Steinen kennen lernen will, ist mit einem normalen LEGO Set bestens bedient. LEGO selber biete online Bauanleitungen zum Download an (http://us.service.lego.com/de-DE/BuildingInstructions/default.aspx).
  • Selbst wenn es eine Bauanleitung geben würde, das zweite Problem wäre ist die Beschaffung des Baumaterials. Ich selber bin kein Händler, d.h. ich verkaufe keine LEGO Einzelsteine. Für viele meiner Modelle würde man jedoch viele, viele Steine benötigen, die man aktuell weder bei LEGO noch bei nur einem oder wenigen BrickLink-Händlern kaufen kann. Oft muss ich selber jahrelang sammeln und Glück haben, um die erforderlichen Steine für meine Modelle zusammen zu bekommen.
  • Und leider gibt es immer wieder profit-süchtige Zeitgenossen, die sich Bauanleitungen von LEGO Modellen „besorgen“, die Modelle nachbauen um sie anschließend mit Gewinnabsicht weiter zu verkaufen. In der Regel wird bei solchen Aktionen der eigentliche kreative Schöpfer nicht gefragt und schon gar nicht am Gewinn beteiligt. Derart unfaires Handeln kann ich leider nur dadruch verhindern, dass ich keine Bauanleitungen meiner Modell online stelle.

Wo findet man Bauanleitungen von anderen LEGO Fans?

Keine Regel ohne Ausnahme 

Für meinen grünen Wasserwerfer habe vor langer Zeit mal eine einfach Bauanleitung ohne Teileliste erstellt. Die Bauanleitung steht als PDF-Download (ca. 3,6 MB) zur Verfügung. Die PDF-Datei ist kennwortgeschützt. Das Kennwort zum Öffnen schicke ich gerne per E-Mail zu.

Ausgewählte Bauanleitungen und Teilelisten stehen für einige Eisenbahnmodelle (Dampflok BR 10 und BR 80) zur Verfügung.

Nachbau und Verkauf

Meine Bauanleitungen stehen auf meiner Webseite kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Der Nachbau ist jedoch ausschließlich für den eigenen Bedarf erlaubt. Ein Nachbau mit der Absicht, das Modell weiter zu verkaufen ist ausdrücklich nicht erlaubt.