Deutsch | English

Desert Express – Namibia's unique railway experience

Highslide JS
Newspaper article about the Desert-Express (Rheinische Post, August, 19th 2000)

An exceptional story

August 2000: I found an interesting full-page article about the "Desert Express" in my local newspaper Rheinischen Post.

My eyes were stuck on the black/white picture of the engine. The engine looks great, what about a model in LEGO bricks? I started to email with Namibia and got back some nice coloured pictures form the train. Blue - White - Yellow. Standard LEGO colours!

Highslide JS
Desert-Express © Michael Obert

Transnamib, the Namibian Railway company also gave me the adress of the German photographer Michael Obert. He sold me some more pictures of the train. Even if Anita from Transnamib has never seen a picture of the model she was joking and said, I should bring a copy of the train down to Namibia.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

November 2000: I brought back my childhood LEGO bricks from "dark-ages" – so let's begin to build the train.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

December 2000: The LEGO Desert Express is finished. Here you can find the first postings at the German 1000steine forum and at lugnet.trains. Transnamib repeats their offer after they saw pictures of the model on the internet.

8-wide – this is the width of the LEGO Desert Express. Waggons and the engine are each 46 studs long. The train consists of a diesel engine and four coaches named "Welwitschia", "Spitzkoppe", "Oryx" and "Rhino". The real Desert Express got 9 coaches all together including 24 air-conditioned bedrooms, bar and restaurant.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

December 2001: My trip to Namibia is getting closer. Flight tickets are booked, accommodation is organised and the train tickets are booked … all by Transnamib!

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Februar 2001: I met Anita Witt in person in Düsseldorf. I was able to present the LEGO model at a meeting of several travel agents. Therefore I brought 25 kg of sand to the hotel's conference room. The offer to come to Namibia is repeated and we plan for next May.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Meanwhile I collected more then 3500 elements for the second Desert Express which should go to Namibia. This was only possible with the help of many other LEGO fans these days, comfortable shopping facilities like www.bricklink.com didn't exist at that time.

The preparations are coming to an end. The stickers are in place and the tickets are on my desk.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Visiting Namibia

February 2002: On February, 18th I lift-off from Frankfurt airport heading for Windhoek in Namibia. A fantastic trip just started this day … see some pictures from my trip at my travel pages.

The name "Express" is a little bit misleading. Both the model and the real train are moving rather slowly through the desert (or the tight LEGO train track curves).

Specifications

Drive: 2x 9V train motor in the first coach
Type: 8-wide, diesel engine with 4 coaches
Length Lok: ~37 cm (~46 studs)
Length Waggons: ~37 cm (~46 studs)
Total Length: ~1,90 m
Year of Construction: 2001/2002

 

Building instructions and part lists

There are no building instructions und part lists available for the models shown on this web site. There are no engineering drawings available. To build the LEGO models only photographs from the real prototypes were used. All models are unique and not for sale.

Why doesn't building instructions exist?

Deutsch | English

Desert Express – Namibia's unique railway experience

Highslide JS
Zeitungsartikel über den Desert-Express (Rheinische Post, 19. August 2000)

Eine ungewöhnliche Geschichte

August 2000: In der Rheinischen Post erscheint ein ganzseitiger Artikel „Bummelzug durch die Wüste“ über den Desert Express in Namibia.

Ein schwarz-weiß Bild der Lok inspiriert mich und ich überlege, ob ich ein Modell davon bauen könnte? Da eine Mailadresse angegeben war, mailte ich nach Namibia und bekam schon bald einen Bildschirmschoner mit farbigen Bildern des Zuges geschickt: blau-weiss-gelb. Standardfarben, die es auch von LEGO gibt.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express © Michael Obert

Dann habe ich noch von Transnamib (die Eisenbahngesellschaft in Namibia) die Adresse eines dt. Fotographen (Michael Obert) bekommen. Dieser verkaufte mir ein paar Bilder des Zuges. Schon zu diesem frühen Zeitpunkt meinte Anita Witt von Transnamib, wenn ich eine Kopie für Transnamib baue, könne ich sie direkt in Namibia vorbeibringen.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

November 2000: Ich hole meine alten LEGO Steine aus dem „dark-ages“ Dauerschlaf – nun kann endlich loslegen.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Dezember 2000: Der LEGO Desert Express ist fertig und ich poste im deutschen 1000steine Forum und auf lugnet.trains. Transnamib wiederholt sein Angebot nachdem man die Bilder im Web gesehen hat.

8-wide. So breit ist selbstverständlich der LEGO Desert Express. Waggons und Lok sind je 46 Noppen lang. Der Zug besteht aus einer Diesellok und vier Waggons mit den Namen „Welwitschia“, „Spitzkoppe“, „Oryx“ und „Rhino“, dem Gepäck und Generatorwagen. Der echte Desert Express besteht insgesamt aus 9 Waggons, mit insgesamt 24 klimatisierten 1-/2- oder 3-Bettzimmern, Bar und Restaurant.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Dezember 2001: Das Angebot wird von Transnamib konkretisiert: Transnamib sponsort: Flug, Übernachtungen und die Fahrt im Desert Express!

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Februar 2001: Ich treffe mich mit Anita Witt und anderen namibischen Touristenexperten in Düsseldorf. Bei einer Veranstaltung für Reisebüros wird auch der Zug präsentiert. (Dafür habe ich extra 25 kg Quarzsand ins Steigenberger Parkhotel gekarrt, damit es auch nach Wüste aussieht.) Das Reiseangebot wird wiederholt und wir planen für Mai.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Mittlerweile habe ich Dank der Fangemeinde die 3500 Steine für einen zweiten Desert Express mit einer Lok und vier Waggons zusammen – bequeme Einkaufsmöglichkeiten wie www.bricklink.com gab es damals noch nicht.

Die Vorbereitungen laufen auf Hochtouren. Die fehlenden Aufkleber werden angebracht und die Tickets liegen auch schon bereit.

Highslide JS
Desert-Express

Reise nach Namibia

Februar 2002: Am 18. Februar ist Abflug vom Frankfurter Flughafen, eine wunderbare Reise nimmt ihren Lauf … Bilder dieser traumhaften 10 Tage auf der Südhalbkugel gibt auf meiner Reiseseite.

Der Name „Express“ verwirrt allerdings etwas. Sowohl das Modell als auch das Original bewegen sich eher gemächlich durch die Wüste. Dafür ist wohl in beiden Fällen das Gleisbett verantwortlich (enge Kurvenradien bzw. wüstengeplagte Schienen in Namibia).

Technische Daten

Antrieb: 2x 9V Eisenbahnmotor im ersten Waggon
Bauart: 8-wide, Diesellok und 4 Waggons
Länge Lok: ~37 cm (~46 Noppen)
Länge Waggons: ~37 cm (~46 Noppen)
Gesamtlänge: ~1,90 m
Baujahr: 2001/2002

 

Bauanleitung und Teileliste

Für meine hier gezeigten Modelle sind – bis auf wenige Ausnahmen – keine Bauanleitungen und keine Teilelisten verfügbar. Es gibt auch keine Konstruktionszeichnungen, als Vorlage dienen in der Regel Fotos der realen Vorbilder. Die Modelle sind unverkäufliche Einzelstücke.

Warum gibt es keine Bauanleitung?